Sea Change San Mateo County is an initiative by the County of San Mateo to bring together and provide resources to local governments and agencies within the County on the issue of sea level rise.  Our efforts to address the challenge of sea level rise began with an initial conference in December 2013 at the College of San Mateo, spearheaded by U.S. Congresswoman Jackie Speier, California Assemblyman Rich Gordon and County Supervisor Dave Pine. The conference was a success and drew in hundreds of stakeholders from all different sectors and organizations.

From these initial efforts, the County realized the necessity to better understand the vulnerability and risks posed by sea level rise across the entire county. This effort evolved further with funding from the Coastal State Conservancy for the initiation of the County-wide sea level rise vulnerability assessment and a detailed analysis of sea level rise vulnerabilities in the SFO, San Bruno Creek, and Colma Creek area.

We see the challenge of climate change and rising tides to be a regional issue and believe that collaboration between all the affected stakeholders is critical to finding effective solutions. Sea Change San Mateo County is a collaboration between the County’s Office of Sustainability and the offices of Supervisors Dave Pine and Don Horsley.

photo of coastline

Beach near Pescadero

Project Team:

San Mateo County

Supervisor Dave Pine
District 1
Jim Eggemeyer
Director, Office of Sustainability
Hilary Papendick
Climate Change & Adaptation Manager, Office of Sustainability
Jasneet Sharma
Climate Resiliency Specialist, Office of Sustainability
Carolyn Raider
Resource Conservation  Specialist, Office of Sustainability
Avana Andrade
Management Fellow, Office of Sustainability
Montserrat Plascencia
Sustainability Fellow, Office of Sustainability
TimothyTimothy Carter
Sustainability Fellow, Office of Sustainability
Michael Barber
Legislative Aide, Office of Supervisor Dave Pine
Deborah Hirst
Legislative Aide, Office of Supervisor Don Horsley


California State Conservancy

KellyKelly Malinowski
Project Manager
Matt Gerhart
Program Manager

Prior Team Members:

Sally Prowitt
Sustainability Coordinator, Office of Sustainability 
Gordon Tong
Program Manager, Office of Sustainability